Skip Navigation
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina Show SC.gov Links
  • Middleton Place Image
  • Thorn Hill Farms Image
  • Boyd Farm Image

Qualified Entities


The Conservation Bank Act empowered the Conservation Bank to award grants to eligible trust fund recipients for the purchase of interests in land so long as the grants meet the purpose of the Act and meet the proper criteria as contained in the Act.

An "eligible trust fund" recipient is defined in the Act as:

  1. The SC Department of Natural Resources; The SC Forestry Commission; and The SC Department of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism.
  2. A municipality of SC and any agency, commission, or Instrumentality of such a municipality.
  3. A not-for-profit charitable corporation or trust authorized to do business in SC whose principal activity is the acquisition and management of interests in land for conservation or historic preservation purposes and which has tax-exempt status as a public charity under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.

The South Carolina Conservation Bank is prohibited by law from owning any interests in land. If a landowner is interested in conveying a conservation easement on his property it must be to a qualified entity who will hold the easement agreement and be responsible for the terms of the easement. A list of qualified entities and contact information is included herein.

 

Land Trust & WebsiteContactAddressPhone, Fax, & EmailArea Serving

Aiken Land Conservancy

Katie Roth

Executive Director

PO Box 3096

Aiken, SC 29802

Phone: (855) 252-5263

Email: katieroth@bellsouth.net

Aiken

American Forest Management, Inc.

Curtis Spencer

407 N. Pike Road East

Sumter, SC 29153

Phone: (803) 773-5461

Email: Curtis.Spencer@afmforest.com

Multi-State Consultant

Audubon Society of SC

Sharon Richardson

Executive Director

Francis Beidler Forest

336 Sanctuary Road

Harleyville, SC 29448

Phone: (843) 462-2150

Fax: (843) 462-2713

Email: srichardson@audubon.org

Statewide

Barbara Thomas

Operations Manager

Email: bthomas@audubon.org

Beaufort County Open Land Trust (BCOLT) 

Cindy Baysden

Executive Director

PO Box 75

Beaufort, SC 29901

Phone: (843) 521-2175

Fax: (843) 521-1946

Email: cindy@openlandtrust.com

Beaufort

Lisa Lord

Director of Land Conservation

Email: lisa@openlandtrust.com

Chattooga Conservancy

Nicole Hayler

Executive Director

8 Sequoia Hills Lane

Clayton, GA 30525

Phone: (706) 782-6097

Fax: (706) 782-6098

Email: info@chattoogariver.org

Chattooga River Watershed area

Community Open Land Trust

Brenda Davis

Executive Director

1008 Old Chapin Rd.

Lexington, SC 29072

Phone: (803) 606-1802

Email: bdavis@communityopenlandtrust.org

Multi-State Consultant

Conestee Foundation

David Hargett, Ph.D.

Executive Director

PO Box 9111

Greenville, SC 29604

Phone: (864) 277-2004

Email: dhargett52@gmail.com

Greenville
Congaree Land Trust

Stuart White

Executive Director

PO Box 5232

Columbia, SC 29250

Phone: (803) 988-0000

Fax: (803) 988-0202

Email: stuart@congareelt.org

Bamberg, Calhoun, Clarendon, Fairfield, Kershaw, Lexington, Lee, Newberry, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter, Williamsburg

Mary Crockett

Land Protection Director

Email: mary@congareelt.org
Conservation FundJason Johnson

204 Water Oak Lane

Matthews, NC 28104

Phone: (803) 422-1408

Email: jjohnson@conservationfund.org

Statewide

Ducks Unlimited, Inc.

South Atlantic Field Office

Emily Purcell

Conservation Specialist

3294 Ashley Phosphate Rd., Suite 2-A

North Charleston, SC 29418

Phone: (843) 745-9110

Fax: (843) 745-9112

Email: epurcell@ducks.org

Statewide
East Cooper Land Trust

Catherine Main

Executive Director

PO Box 2495

Mt. Pleasant, SC 29465

Phone: (843) 224-1849

Email: Catherine@eastcooperland.org

Berkeley, Charleston
Edisto Island Open Land Trust

John Girault

Executive Director

PO Box 1

Edisto Island, SC 29438

Phone: (843) 869-9004

Fax: (843) 869-7820

Email: john@edisto.org

Colleton, Charleston - only Edisto Island
Friends of the Reedy River

Nikki Grumbine

Board President

PO Box 9351

Greenville, SC 29604

Phone: (864) 255-8946

Email: mmkathr@gmail.com

Greenville, Laurens
Katawba Valley Land Trust

Barry Beasley

Executive Director

PO Box 1776

Lancaster, SC 29721-1776

Phone: (803) 285-5801

Fax: (803) 283-9181

Email: kvlt@comporium.net

Lancaster, Chester

Lindsay Pettus

President

Phone: (803) 285-9455

Email: pettusre@comporium.net

Kiawah Island Natural Habitat Conservancy, Inc.

Donna Windham

Executive Director

80 Kestrel Court

Kiawah Island, SC 29455

Phone: (843) 768-2029

Fax: (843) 768-4019

Email: kiacons@aol.com

Kiawah Island
Jennifer WoodyEmail: Jennifer.woody@kiawahconservancy.org
Lord Berkeley Conservation Trust

Raleigh West

Executive Director

223 East Main Street, Suite B

Moncks Corner, SC 29461-6120

Phone: (843) 899-5228

Fax: (843) 719-4207

Email: info@lordberkeley.org

Berkeley
Lowcountry Land Trust

Ashley Demosthenes

President/CEO

43 Wentworth Street

Charleston, SC 29401

Phone: (843) 577-6510

Fax: (843) 577-0501

Email: ademosthenes@lowcountrylandtrust.org

Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Clarendon, Colleton, Dorchester, Georgetown, Hampton, Horry, Jasper, Orangeburg, Williamsburg
Nation Ford Land Trust

Brittnay Brown

Executive Director

PO Box 431

Fort Mill, SC 29716

Phone: (803) 547-8140

Fax: (803) 547-2852

Email: Brittany@NationFordLandTrust.org

York
Naturaland Trust

Mac Stone

Executive Director

PO Box 728

Greenville, SC 29602

 

148 River Street, Suite 110

Greenville, SC 29601

Phone: (864) 387-6079

Email: macstone@naturalandtrust.org

Upstate
The Nature Conservancy

Mark Robertson

Executive Director

PO Box 5475

Columbia, SC 29205

Phone: (803) 254-9049 Ext. 27

Fax: (803) 252-7134

Email: mrobertson@tnc.org

Statewide
Sarah Hartman

PO Box 20246

Charleston, SC 29413

Phone: (843) 937-8807 Ext. 11

Fax: (843) 937-6735

Email: shartman@tns.org

Palmetto Conservation Foundation

Natalie Cappuccio Britt

Executive Director

722 King Street

Columbia, SC 29205

Phone: (803) 771-0870

Fax: (803) 771-0590

Email: info@palmettoconservation.org

Statewide
Pee Dee Land Trust

David Harper

Executive Director

PO Box 2134

Florence, SC 29503

Phone: (843) 667-3229 Ext. 302

Fax: (843) 667-6818

Email: pdlt@peedeelandtrust.org

Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Marlboro, Williamsburg
SC Battleground Preservation Trust

Douglas W. Bostick

Executive Director

PO Box 80668

Charleston, SC 29416-0668

Phone: (843) 743-8281

Email: dbostick@scbattlegroundtrust.org

Statewide - focus on battleground areas
SCDNR - Heritage Trust

Ken Rentiers

Director

PO Box 167

Columbia, SC 29202

Phone: (803) 734-9035

Fax: (803) 734-9809

Email: rentiersk@dnr.sc.gov

Statewide - Heritage Trust Program
SCDNR - Land, Water, & Conservation DivistionMarc Cribb

PO Box 167

Columbia, SC 29202

Phone: (803) 734-6367

Email: cribbm@dnr.sc.gov

Statewide - Soil & Water Cons. Districts
SCDNR BoardCary L. Chastain

PO Box 21690

Charleston, SC 29413

Phone: (843) 442-0609

Fax: (843) 557-0400

Email: chastainc@dnr.sc.gov

Statewide
Spartanburg Area Conservancy (SPACE)

Andrew Waters

Executive Director

100 E. Main Street, Suite 7B

Spartanburg, SC 29306

Phone: (864) 948-0000

Fax: (864) 948-5369

Email: andrew@spartanburgconservation.org

Cherokee, Spartanburg, Unio.n
The Trust for Public LandKent Whitehead

100 M. Street SE, Suite 700

Washington, DC 20003

Phone: (202) 330-4729

Fax: (843) 853-3112

Email: kent.whitehead@tpl.org

Statewide
Upper Savannah Land Trust

Wallace Wood

Executive Director

430 Helix Road

Greenwood, SC 29646

Phone: (864) 940-8078

Email: info@scuslt.com

Abbeville, Anderson, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick, Newberry, Saluda
Upstate Forever

Andrea Cooper

Executive Director

507 Pettigru Street

Greenville, SC 29601

Phone: (864) 250-0500

Fax: (864) 250-0788

Email: acooper@upstateforever.org

Abbeville, Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Greenwood, Laurens, Oconee, Pickens, Spartanburg, Unio.n

Scott Park

Land Trust Director

Phone: (864) 250-0500 Ext. 26

Email: spark@upstateforever.org

Waccamaw Land Trust

David Bishop

Board Chairman

Waccamaw Community Foundation

3655 S. Hwy 17 Bus.

Murrells Inlet, SC 29576

Phone: (843) 357-4483

Fax: (843) 357-4457

Email: david@mywcf.org

Horry, Georgetown

  • Mail Applications to: SC Conservation Bank, 1201 Main Street, Suite 1820, Columbia, SC 29201
  • Related Links